“She has a gorgeous figyah.”

Faithful blog-readers! Of which there may only be two or three!

In regards to the title of this post, it’s from Jen Kirkman’s podcast, which is called “I Seem Fun: The Diary of Jen Kirkman” and you can find it here. I really love her angle on, well, everything. Been listening to it nonstop lately. If you’re unfamiliar, a good place to start with Jen Kirkman are her episodes of Drunk History; this and this.

Also… WELCOME BACK, EMILY. LOVE, EMILY

I’m not really “into” “resolutions” for “the new year,” but it’s a nice place to be, this blog. I created it, and I’m coming back to it, and I’m resolving (yes) to update it at least once per week for a whole year. YES. YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST.

Damn, what’s new? This is what I’ve been reading and re-reading and re-re-reading recently:
The Artist’s Way, The Hunger Games trilogy, Art & Fear: Observations on the Perils (and Rewards) of Artmaking, Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons (Calvin & Hobbes), Hyperbole and a Half, Tove Jansson’s The Summer Book and Fair Play and her comic strip books, Lynda Barry’s One! Hundred! Demons!, my shredded copy of the original Peter Pan script by J.M. Barrie recovered from a dusty box of high school books in my parents’ basement

photo(1)

I’m sick with a cold and out from work today. And I am just rolling with it, I’m in bed with kleenex and my laptop now. Many people might spend regular, non-sick hours upon hours like this in their beds; generally I don’t. With the exception of today.

I probably caught this bug on my “tri-state tour” earlier this month, first to Salt Lake City for Russian Christmas with Ma an Pa and twin sister, and hanging with my homegirls Meredith, Juli, Isabelle and Claire. Then to Philadelphia to visit my dear Joanna, a taste of the east coast, and a bus to NYC/Brooklyn for older sis Katie’s baby shower! On or near February 16, I’m going to become AUNTIE EM you guys. I am very excited. But for six days my fragile Pacific Northwest immune system was bombarded with 1,000,000 people riding public transit to the nth degree, and now I’m here contemplating a Cold & Sinus Blaster tincture.

Mary and I are going to see civil rights activist Angela Davis speak in early February at Pacific University. We are on the hunt for a small house to share. Yes! We want to adopt a dog. I’d like to have chickens again, and a huge impossible garden.

Mostly, things feel like they’re moving forward, which is good, and moving too fast, and I want everything to slow down. SLOW DOWN!  That’s what I yell at cars who are clearly speeding. This is what I want to shout everywhere lately. Even though change is inevitable and good. This morning, Mary said, “I had a dream that I was looking for a house, but not with you, with some weird middle-aged woman,” to which I replied, “Sometimes I AM a weird middle-aged woman.”

More Cool Stuff To Focus On For 2014:

- Zinefests
- Finally making all those zines I want to make
- Travel
- Acupuncture on the regs
- Therapy
- A new job
- A new house
- A DOG(e)
- Climbing at least once per week
- Reading more Regarding because that is still the best blog ever
- Listening to music I used to love
- Getting a record player?!
- Getting rid of 10 mugs + all the other crap in my life that I don’t need
- Pursuing social media as a way to promote myself with vigor and enthusiasm
- Avoiding any and all situations that feel like ANY scene (except maybe the one in the snowy cabin) in the movie “Her”
- But also embracing and having fun with technology, because it’s here to stay

See ya next week, or sooner!
♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

One response to ““She has a gorgeous figyah.”

  1. Pingback: that's nice

Leave a Reply

